You are here
Women's Regional Cricket 

Women’s franchise league launched in Trinidad

Popular West Indies and Mumbai Indians player Keiron Pollard is one of four owners of professional ladies teams in Trinidad and Tobago for the upcoming Courts T20 Women’s Grand Slam tournament.
This was revealed at the launch of the tournament yesterday at the National Cricket Centre (NCC) in Couva. The tournament will be played from May 15 to 19 and will involve four teams in Pollard’s KJ Sports Eastern Diamonds, Sacha Cosmetics Northern Stars Blazers, Tecu Southern Titans and Creation Group Central Gladiators.
West Indies players Merissa Aguillierra, Stacy King, Anisa Mohammed and Lee Ann Kirby will captain the respective teams. Unicomer Limited are the major sponsors of this tournament which will carry the name Courts T20 Women’s Grand Slam tournament. Commercial director at Courts Roger Rambharose was at the launch to hand over the cheque for TT$75,000 and praised the T&T Women’s Cricket Board for the initiative. Courts has been sponsoring cricket in T&T for the last 15 years and Rambharose was happy to continue the association. We have had a long and fruitful partnership with the cricket board and this further pushes the envelope for development to great heights but more importantly building the potential of our people and our communities.   
“We at Unicomer are passionate and committed about the development of our people and we extend this to our business partners, key stakeholders and the various communities we support through our social corporate responsibility efforts.
“We hope that this Court’s Women’s T20 Grand Slam serve as a platform to develop the game encourage, greater participation and through this we will be able to identify new talent to represent not only Trinidad and Tobago but the West Indies as well.”
The team owners were also on hand and Sandra Matthews-Noel from Tecu Credit Union the owners of the Tecu Southern Titans said :”Our corporate social responsibility has seen us actively partner with NGOs all aimed at improving the lives of our members, communities and the country. This is just a representation of our continued commitment to the development of the people of Trinidad and Tobago.”
President of the TTWCBC, Joycelyn Opadeyi said that the national women cricketers is what you can describe as :”Excellence in team dynamics”. She was making reference to the fact that just recently, they won the regional tournament. “We are the leaders in team sport here as you would have noticed that we won the First Citizens best team award. We are all very excited about this tournament, as it is yet another indication that we are leading in the sphere of women’s cricket.”
Each team will be allowed two foreign players for the first season and these have been selected from the Caribbean region.
Sacha Cosmetics Northern Stars: Lee Ann Kirby (capt), Rachael Vincent, Karishma Ramharack, Jerveena Pollucksingh, Amanda Samaroo, Kirbyina Alexander, Nicole George, Anna Marie Perriera, Rosemary Samaroo, Maria La Foucade, Samantha Ramgoolam, Afy Fletcher (Grenada), Chedean Nation (Jamaica).
Tecu Southern Titans: Merissa Aguilleira (capt), Britney Cooper, Shennelle Lord, Smantha Bissoon, Shania Abdool, Renelle Dookie, Gaitri Seetahal, Kajol Dalgir, Chantal Emmanuel, Lashelle Hamilton, Daylia Alexander, Shanel Daley (Jamaica) and Akeira Peters.
KJ Sports Eastern Diamonds: Stacy Ann King (capt), Reniece Boyce, Selene O’Neil, Shanice Pascall, Alia Joseph, Rosalie Dollabaille, Jovanka Simon, Felina Jack, Steffie Soogrim, Jesse Ferdinan, April Ramoutar, Hayley Matthews (Barbados), Shamilia Connell (Barbados).

Creational Group Central Gladiators: Anisa Mohammed (capt), Felicia Walters, Kamara Ragoobar, Alisa Mohammed, Allison Collins, Nadia Mohammed, Reanna Farrow, Shamila Nowrang, Leandra Ramdeen, Djenaba Joseph, Alysha Gomez, Shakera Selman (Barbados), Shemaine Campbelle (Guyana).

Related posts

Leave a Comment