You are here
International News Regional News 

Windies quick Gabriel named Cricketer of the Year in Trinidad

Fast bowler Shannon Gabriel copped the 2017 T&T Cricket Board (TTCB), International Cricket of the Year title at the board’s 61st annual presentation at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba. 

The fast bowler who is currently in New Zealand with the West Indies team had an impressive year for the West Indies on the international scene. In his few appearances for the T&T Red Force he bowled well and this put him ahead of the other contenders. 

Barbadian Roshon Primus was named National senior cricketer of the year for his great exploits with both bat and ball. The right hander making his debut for the T&T Red Force showed great quality and was rewarded with the top prize. He beat out fellow contenders Barbadian Kyle Hope, Imran Khan, Bryan Charles and Yannic Cariah.

On the youth scene the cricketer of the year was Naparima College batsman Cephas Cooper. The right hander who plays for PowerGen was only this week selected on the West Indies team for the upcoming Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand. He got the better of West Indies Under-19 vice-captain Kirstan Kallicharan,Avinash Mahabirsingh, Crystian Thurton and Keagan Simmons. Cooper was alos named Secondary Schools cricketer of the year for his performances while leading Naparima College. 

Mahabirsingh who also played for Naps copped the Sonny Ramadhin youth spinner of the year award. 

The club of the year honours went to Queen’s Park after they took the Premiership and the 50-overs titles. 

TTCB 2017 Honour Roll

Primary Schools Cricketer of the Year 

Male: Nick Ramlal

Female: Aby Bando

Secondary Schools Cricketer of the Year

Male: Cephas Cooper

Female: Shania Abdool

Youth Spinner of the Year – Avinash Mahabirsingh

National Youth Cricketers of the Year – Kirstan Kallicharan, Cephas Cooper, Avinash Mahabirsingh, Crystian Thurton and Keagan Simmons.

The National Youth Cricketer – Cephas Cooper

National Senior Cricketers of the Year – Kyle Hope, Imran Khan, Roshon Primus, Bryan Charles, Yannic Cariah

The National Senior Cricketer of the Year – Roshon Primus

Administrator of the Year – Manohar Ramsaran

CLUB OF THE YEAR PREMIERSHIP – Queen’s Park Cricket Club

International Player of the Year – Shannon Gabriel

Related posts

Leave a Comment