You are here
Domestic News 

Parkites at Full Strength for 2018 Season

DEFENDING champions Queen’s Park open their campaign of the 2018 Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board’s season on Saturday (May 24) with a first round match against Central Sports at Invaders Recreation Ground in Felicity.

The Parkites are looking to extend their domination of the National League having swept both Premiership I and II competitions, with the first team copping the Dr Allen Sammy Trophy for being adjudged “Club of the Year.”

They were also convincing winners of the Premiership I 50-Overs competition, and a repeat of their enviable “double” is not farfetched especially since for the first time in eight years, the Parkites will have at their disposal all of their leading players.

By virtue of not qualifying for the regional Super50 Cup semi-finals currently underway in Antigua and Barbuda, local cricket has been given a big boost with the availability of the national stars to play for their clubs.

Coach of Queen’s Park, David Furlonge, on Tuesday confirmed that his top players will be in action when the local season bowls off.

He said once again the squad will be led by opening batsman Justin Guillen, who was their leading run-scorer last season, and that their prospects have been strengthened by several Red Force cricketers.

Among them are Yannick Cariah, among the 2017 “Five Cricketers of the Year”; Jeremy Solozano, Tion Webster, and Kharry Pierre.

Also expected to play a significant role in their bid to retain their championship title are Akeal Hosein, Kevon Cooper, Daron Cruickshank, and their wicketkeeper Anthony Balgobin.

“I believe that we have the right balance of batsmen, all-rounders and bowlers so we are in a very good place having fine-tuned our preparation with several practice matches,” said Furlonge.

The top cricket coach said the only problem he forsees is the dilemma posed by the wealth of talent now available and confesses that picking a final eleven will be a very difficult task.

Their opponents in the opening round, Central Sports has also been going through the paces and has promised to put up a bigger fight than they did when the teams met last season.

“We are a young side, in terms of the age of the players this season but we will certainly be competitive and improve on our fourth-place finish in 2017,” said club president Richard Ramkissoon.

He said the team’s two practice matches against Monroe Road, and Prisons Sports Club gave them a clear indication of their strengths and weaknesses heading into the clash with the Parkites.

“We are looking forward to a very productive 2018 season, having reached the final of the TTCB T-20 Festival, while bowing out of the UWI T20 after reaching the last four,” said Ramkissoon.

Once again Central Sports will be skippered by Kjorn Ottley and will have in their line-up last season’s First Team “Cricketer of the Year” Shazam Babwah.

Also expected to play a leading role in the club’s challenge for top honours will be Kamil Pooran, Kissoondath Magram, ICC Under-19 World Cup winner Jyd Goolie, Aaron Alfred, Al Small and lone overseas player, all-rounder Alex Antoine of St Lucia.

Joining the team for the first time is talented batsman Adrian Ali, the local government councillor for Monroe Road in the Chaguanas Borough Corporation.

Ramkissoon said he was impressed with the commitment shown by the players and the objective is to win all the competitions that the team is involved in this season.

New chairman of the National League Dudnath Ramkessoon, a former Trinidad and Tobago team captain said interest in local cricket is high following the restructuring of the competition.

He expects that the clubs will produce more competitive cricket with more outright results expected over the two days, and also predicted that the objective of reducing costs will also be achieved.

Ramkessoon will be among the officials present for an opening ceremony for the 2018 National League Premiership I competition on Saturday from 9.30 am at the Invaders Ground in Felicity.

Premiership I
February 24 & 25
Central Sports vs Queen’s Park I, Invaders Gd., Felicity
Queen’s Park II vs Victoria, QP Oval, Port-of-Spain
FCB Clarke Road vs Alescon Comets, Wilson Road, Penal
PowerGen Sports vs Merryboys, Syne Village, Penal

Premiership II
Canefarm vs Aranguez, Crown Street Rec. Gd, Tacarigua
BFL vs EYM, Gilbert Park, Couva
Monroe Road vs Caldrac, Monroe Road, Cunupia
Orangefield vs Tableland, Orange Field, Carapichaima

Last Year’s Finish:
Premiership I
1 Queen’s Park I; 2 Merryboys; 3 PowerGen; 4 Central Sports
Premiership II
1 Queen’s Park II; 2 Orangefield; 3 Canefarm; 4 Caldrac

Related posts

Leave a Comment