You are here
International News 

Kohli slams 28th ton to seal series

Virat Kohli slammed his 28th ODI ton as India beat West Indies by 8 wickets at Sabina Park in Jamaica to take the five-match series 3-1. Dinesh Karthik remained unbeaten on 50 while Mohammad Shami took a four-wicket haul. 
The Indians after losing an early wicket got the right tonic in the form of Kohli coming in at number three. He and Ajinkya Rahane 39 first took India to safety at 82 for two before Karthik joined his skipper to take them some at 206 for two and make it a no contest.


Earlier, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav starred for India as hosts West Indies were restricted to 205 for nine in the fifth and final ODI at the Sabina Park on Thursday. The West Indies got off to a solid start courtesy Evin Lewis and Kyle Hope but kept losing wickets in groups. Shai Hope (51 off 98) top scored for the West Indies. Skipper Jason Holder hit a breezy 36 to put Indian bowlers under pressure but the visitors kept pegging away at the wickets. Shami was the pick of the Indian bowlers, taking four wickets for 48 runs while Umesh chipped in with three. Hardik Pandya and Kedar Jadhav took a wicket each.


WI inns
Evin Lewis      c Virat Kohli b Hardik Pandya  9
Kyle Hope      c Shikhar Dhawan b Umesh Yadav  46
Shai Hope (w)   c Ajinkya Rahane b Mohammed Shami  51
Roston Chase     lbw Umesh Yadav  0
Jason Mohammed   c & b Kedar Jadhav  16
Jason Holder (c)     c Shikhar Dhawan b Mohammed Sham   36
Rovman Powell      c MS Dhoni b Umesh Yada     31
Ashley Nurse       c Kuldeep Yadav b Mohammed Shami  0
Devendra Bishoo   c MS Dhoni b Mohammed Shami   6
Alzarri Joseph        not out 3 
Kesrick Williams    not out  0
Extras 6w, 1lb    7
Bowling: Mohammed Shami 10-0-48-4, Umesh Yadav 10-1-53-3, Hardik Pandya 6-0-27-1, Ravindra Jadeja 10-1-27-0, Kuldeep Yadav  10-0-36-0, Kedar Jadhav 4-0-13-1.

India inns

Ajinkya Rahane     lbw Devendra Bishoo    39
Shikhar Dhawan    c Evin Lewis b Alzarri Joseph  4
Virat Kohli (c)        not out     111
Dinesh Karthik      not out       50
Extras 1b, 1w 2
Bowling: Alzarri Joseph 7-0-39-1, Jason Holder  8-1-35-0, Devendra Bishoo 8-0-42-1, Kesrick Williams 8-0-40-0, Ashley Nurse 4-0-34-0, Rovman Powell 1-0-6-0.

Result: India won by 8 wkts.

Related posts

Leave a Comment