You are here
International News 

Knight Riders ready to dim Stars


The T&T Knight Riders (TKR) will go into action against the St. Lucia Stars at 9pm tonight at the Beausejour Cricket Stadium in St. Lucia, hoping to defeat the home side in the opening match of the 2017 Hero CPL T20 tournament.

Dwayne Bravo’s men landed in the Helen of the West, pushing their chests out, as they have dominated the St. Lucien franchise in the CPL, winning five of the eight clashes, winning two, with one ending in a washout.

The TKR had a wonderful preparation heading into the match, winning their warm-up games in Trinidad and ace batsman Darren Bravo looking fine. The left hander has been hitting the ball nicely and a lot will depend on him on a track that is expected to be good for batting.

Also in good touch is New Zealander Colin Munroe, who blasted a 46-ball century in the first warm-up match against the TTCB XI. Fellow New Zealander Brendan McCullum joined the team in St. Lucia and is a key member of the set up. The TKR set up will be depending heavily on spin, as they have the world class Sunil Narine in their ranks. Joining him is young Pakistani spinner Shadab Khan and Mehedi Hassan from Bangladesh.

Bravo’s team will be coming up against a strong Darren Sammy-led outfit. Sammy one of the most successful captains in the history of T20 cricket will be hoping that the quality in his team come to the fore in order to stop the TKR.

TKR team operations manager Colin Borde is confident that a win can come the way of his team :”The guys have really prepared well, the coach has already gotten into the groove and I am confident that we will have a good showing here. The team has done well here before and the core of the team remains, so the experience is there, which leads to confidence.

“The players are already gelling nicely and for this skipper Dwayne Bravo must take credit. He has that ability to get the best out of his players and they are all ready to play for him.”



TKR: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Darren Bravo, Hamza Tariq, Kevon Cooper, Brendan McCullum, Mehedi Hasan, Colin Munroe, William Perkins, Sunil Narine, Anderson Phillip, Denesh Ramdin, Nikita Miller, Shadab Khan,  Ronsford Beaton and Javon Searles.


St. Lucia Stars: Darren Sammy (capt), Johnson Charles, Sunil Ambris, Rakheem Cornwall, Andre Fletcher, Kamran Akmal, Eddie Leie, Keddy Lesporis, Mitchel McCleganhan, Kyle Mayers, Tamil Patel, Jesse Ryder, Jerome Taylor, Shane Watson, Marlon Samuel, David Miller, Lasith Malinga.




August 4, 2016 – TKR won by 5 wkts.

July 26, 2016 – TKR won by 3 wkts.

June 29, 2016 – St. Lucia Stars won 6 wkts.

July 14, 2015 –  St. Lucia won by 4 wkts.

July 21, 2015 –  No result.

August 2, 2014 –  TKR won by 8 wkts.

July 29, 2014 – TKR won by 9 wkts.

August 17, 2013 – TKR won by 6 wkts.

Related posts

Leave a Comment