You are here
International News 

Jamaica Tallawahs announce replacements

The Jamaica Tallawahs have announced two changes to their squad for the remainder of the 2017 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

Shakib al Hasan is returning to Bangladesh to play for his country in the upcoming Test series against Australia. He will be replaced by Glenn Phillips of New Zealand who was already with the Tallawahs team as a non-playing member of the squad.

20-year-old Phillips has played one T20 international for New Zealand. The wicket-keeper batsman already has a T20 hundred for Auckland and has also scored first-class and List A tons.

Gidron Pope has a hand injury which has meant he has had to withdraw from the tournament. He has been replaced by left-handed Guyanese batsman, Trevon Griffith who has played in the Hero CPL before for the Guyana Amazon Warriors.


First started in 2013, the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere. Combining broadcast and digital viewership over 149 million fans watched the 2016 season to make it one of the fastest growing leagues in world cricket. 

Jamaica Tallawahs are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Stars and Trinbago Knight Riders. The 2017 tournament will run from 4 August – 9 September 2017.

For further information visit 

Related posts

Leave a Comment