You are here
Domestic News Uncategorized 

Hillview continues unbeaten run

Leaders Hillview and second place Naparima College were in excellent form Tuesday, as both schools pulled off wins in their respective matches in round four of the PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League.

Hillview made their trip to Tobago worthwhile, as they defeated Signal Hill Secondary by nine wickets at Shaw Park. Batting first Signal Hill made 140 all out with Daveon Shangie scoring a well constructed 88 that impressed Hillview coach Richard Kelly. Rikash Boodram bowled brilliantly for the Eastern school taking 5/15, while Jean Phillip Barry grabbed 3/21. when Hillview College took to the crease, they made a mockery of the target reaching home at 142/1 with Dexter Sween getting 60, Sachin Seecharan 28 not out and Navin Bedassie 26 not out.

At Lewis Street in San Fernando, Naparima College players were greeted by principal Dr. Michael Dowlath and vice-principal Dev Gosein, prior to the start of their match against Fatima College. Their presence seemed to have motivated the boys, as they recorded a 10-wicket win.

Fatima made 114 all out after a good start with Wendell George scoring 28 and Joshua Araujo-Wilson 22. Left arm unorthodox spinner Ryan Bandoo snared 5/30, while there were two wickets apiece for Shadell Soogrim and Avinash Mahabirsingh. Naparima College then romped to victory thanks to West Indies U-19 player Cephas Cooper and Kyle Roopchand. Cooper who recently returned from New Zealand with the West Indies team, made 68 not out and Roopchand got an unbeaten 37, as Naps reached the target in just 18 overs.

Barrackpore West Secondary was also in winners row, taking a comfortable six-wicket win over Presentation Chaguanas in their own backyard.

Leeron Peters scored a century as St. Benedicts defeated Carapichaima East by 97 runs in Central. Peters and Mbeki Joseph 47 took Benedicts to 260/5 and Caps in return struggled against the bowling of Ronnie Goddard 2/26 and Yahtham Henry 2/0 and was all out for 163.


At Lewis Street: Fatima 114 all out ( 37.4) (Wendell George 28, Joshua Araujo-Wilson 22, Ryan Bandoo 5/30, Shadell Soogrim 2/11, Avinash Mahabirsingh 2/20) vs Naparima College 115/0 (18ovs) (Cephas Cooper 68 not out, Kyle Roopchand 37 not out) – Naps won by 10 wkts.

At Shaw Park: Signal Hill 140 (32) (Daveon Shangie 88, Rikash Boodram 5/15, Jean Phillip Barry 3/21) vs Hillview College 142/1 (Dexter Sween 60, Sachin Seecharan 28 not out, Navin Bedassie 26 not out) – Hillview College won by 9 wkts.

At Chaguanas: Presentation Chaguanas 169 all out (D Gopaul 42, Jadon Seales 34, S Mohammed 2/29, A Sonnylal 2/25) vs Barrackpore West Secondary 174/6 (31.1) (D Thomas 59, V Ramsewak 43no, I Ali 2/21, A Pitiram 2/19) – Barrackpore West won by 4 wkts.

At Carapichaima: St Benedict’s College 260/5 (Leeron Peters 139, Mbeki Joseph 47, Renaldo Lezama 2/40) vs Carapichaima East Secondary 163 all out (Khalid Hudson 32, Rupdeen Sookdeo 20, Yahtham Henry 2/0, Ronnie Goddard 2/26) – St. Benedicts won by 97 runs.


At Vishnu Boys: Toco 52 all out (Sachin Dookie 3/18, Samir Ali 3/11) vs Vishnu Boys 54/0 (Parvesh Dindial 23no) – Vishnu Boys won by 10 wkts.

At Barataria: Manzanilla 281/9 (T Garcia 50, J Gibbs 66rt, A Ali 38, K Lewis 38, A Martinez 29no, Adrian Williams 3/63, Shiva McCoon 4/79) vs Barataria South 152 all out (Praveen Ali 22, Pradeem Ali 43, Shiva McCoon 22, R Billy 2/7, K Pierre 4/24, A Martinez 2/27) – Manzanilla won by 129 runs.

At El Dorado: El Dorado East Sec 110 all out (Enrique Rupert 22, Kaveem Boodoosingh 15) vs QRC 112/6 (Adam Reyes 48) – QRC won by 4 wkts.

At Trincity: St. Mary’s 192 all out (Joshua Dookie 45, Leon Bassano 35, Vasant Singh 3/42) vs Trinity College East 182 all out – Sion Hackett 56, Joshua Dookie 4/28, Andre Seetaram 3/21, Sachin Soodeen 3/43) – St. Mary’s won by 10 runs.


At P’Town: St. Stephen’s College 156/8 vs Couva East Secondary 91 all out – St. Stephen’s won by 65 runs.

At P’Town: ASJA Boys SFdo 166/8 (Joel Ramlogan 57, Ferraz Khan 28, N Mohammed 3/29, I Fraser 3/28, K Noel 2/31) vs Princes Town West 168/9 (A Paramchan 55, D Cooper 33, R Ramkissoon 4/41, F Khan 2/26) – Princes Town West won by 1 wkt.

At Penal: Presentation College SFdo 195/8 (Tariq Mohammed 73, Khaleel Mohammed 33) vs Shiva Boys 196/4 (Rohan Singh 90no, Nicholas Ali 43no) – Shiva Boys won by 6 wkts.

At Charlieville: ASJA 326 all out (Sanjay Jawahir 160, Deel Maharaj 63) vs Cowen Hamilton 111/8 – ASJA won by 215 runs.

CAPTION: Principal of Naparima College Dr. Michael Dowlath greets students from Fatima College prior to the clash.


Related posts

Leave a Comment